IPL 2021 Match 3: Methodical SRH take on maverick KKR

Tags: Indian T20 League 2021, Hyderabad XI vs Kolkata XI, 3rd Match at Chennai, Apr 11, 2021, Hyderabad XI, Kolkata XI

Published on: Apr 11, 2021

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Kolkata Knight Riders in the third match of Indian Premier League 2021 (IPL 2021) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on Sunday. SRH have been a highly consistent side in the IPL. They made it to the playoffs last seasons as well, before going down to Delhi Capitals in the second qualifier.

KKR, on the other hand, missed out narrowly due to an inferior run rate. They finished equal on points with SRH and RCB but their inconsistency cost them. While SRH will be led by the reliable David Warner, KKR’s reins is in the hands of Eoin Morgan, who took over the leadership duties from a struggling Dinesh Karthik last season

SRH have a strong top-order with Warner always among the runs. Jonny Bairtstow had a mixed run last year, after which Wriddhiman Saha came in and did well at the top of the order. Kane Williamson has been impressive most times he has walked out to the middle to bat.

It is the middle-order that has been an area of concern for SRH. Manish Pandey had an inconsistent season last year. The likes of Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma and Priyam Garg are still learning. SRH will have to strategize a way to get runs out of the middle-order.

SRH are strong in the bowling department. The pace attack has Team India heroes Bhuvneswar Kumar and T Natarajan while Sandeep Sharma has been consistent with his performances as well. Jason Holder is a quality all-rounder in the team while Rashid Khan is a spin sensation.

Looking at KKR, they need to find a sense of balance and consistency. Last year, they never really got into any kind of rhythm. Shubman Gill did well with the bat at the top of the order but he will have to work on improving his strike rate.

Nitish Rana, skipper Eoin Morgan and Dinesh Karthik will need to deliver with the bat. KKR would also hope that Sunil Narine can contribute as an all-rounder as he was doing a few seasons back. Then there is of course Andre Russell, who is a match-winner on his day.

The bowling department will be led by Pat Cummins and backed by the impressive Indian duo of Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi. In the spin department, KKR would want Varun Chakravarthy to weave his magic again. Veteran Harbhajan Singh and Pawan Negi are the other options in the slow bowling department.

Predicted XIs

SRH: David Warner, Wriddhiman Saha, Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma

KKR: Nitish Rana, Shubman Gill, Eoin Morgan (Captain), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Sunil Narine, Pawan Negi, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy

--Renin Wilben Albert

Related News