Mumbai Indians thrash Chennai Super Kings in IPL 5 opener!

Tags: Chennai Super Kings Vs Mumbai Indians 1st Match at Chennai - Apr 4, 2012, Indian Premier League - 2012, Pragyan Prayash Ojha, Suresh Kumar Raina, Richard Ernst Levi

Published on: Apr 04, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Chennai Super Kings Vs Mumbai Indians, Match 1 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai : DLF IPL 2012 : Match Highlights

Richard Levi smashes Mumbai Indians for an easy win

Mumbai Indians opened IPL 5 with a crushing 8-wicket win over defending champions Chennai Super Kings at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. South Africa’s new sensation set up the easy win for the Mumbai Indians with a smashing 50 from 35 balls with 6 fours and 3 sixes. The visitors eased to the victory with 19 balls to spare.

Although it was an easy victory for Mumbai Indians, the visitors had their struggle on an indifferent pitch on which some of the balls kicked up nastily. Sachin Tendulkar was at the receiving end to one such delivery from Doug Bollinger which forced him to retire hurt with a bleeding finger. Tendulkar looked in fine touch for his 16 (from 15 balls with a four and a six).

Richard LeviThe visitors were carried to victory by an unbeaten stand of 43 runs between AT Rayudu (18* from 18 balls with a six) and James Franklin (25* from 30 balls with 2 fours). Richard Levi got the Man of the Match for his explosive knock in his first IPL game.

Chennai Super Kings bowled out for just 112

Defending Champions Chennai Super Kings have been bowled out for a disastrous 112 in 19.5 overs in their opening match against Mumbai Indians. The hosts struggled to find any sort of momentum on a pitch that was two paced.

After a dull start of 38 for 2 in 5.5 overs, CSK seemed to be getting the much needed momentum but it was all spoilt when Suresh Raina (36 from 26 balls with 2 fours and a six) drove Pragyan Ojha to deep extra covers. From 75 for 3 in the 10th over, it was downhill for the hosts as they kept on losing wickets and the boundaries simply eluded them.

There was hardly any batsman including Skipper MS Dhoni who could repair the CSK innings. Lasith Malinga (3.5-0-16-2), Pragyan Ojha (4-0-17-2) and Kieron Pollard (4-0-15-2) were successful in strangling the CSK batsmen with their change of pace and tight lines.

Toss and Teams: Harbhajan Singh, the Mumbai Indians Captain won the toss and invited MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings to bat first in the opening match of the DLF IPL 2012 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Harbhajan says that the pitch is a fresh one and something that his seamers can make use of.

Chennai Super Kings: M Vijay, F du Plessis, S Badrinath, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicket Keeper), DJ Bravo, RA Jadeja, JA Morkel, R Ashwin, SB Jakati, DE Bollinger

Mumbai Indians: SR Tendulkar, RE Levi, AT Rayudu (Wicket Keeper), RG Sharma, KD Karthik, KA Pollard, JEC Franklin, Harbhajan Singh (Captain), SL Malinga, AN Ahmed, PP Ojha

Related News