India’s squads for home series against Sri Lanka announced; Pant dropped from both squads, Dhawan from ODIs

Tags: Sri Lanka tour of India, 2023, Sri Lanka, India

Published on: Dec 27, 2022

The Indian selectors have named the white-ball squads for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka at home. While Hardik Pandya has been picked as captain of the T20I squad, Rohit Sharma will return to lead the team in the one-dayers. Among the major developments, keeper-batter Rishabh Pant has been dropped from both squads, while there is no place for Shikhar Dhawan in the one-day team

Rohit, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli are not part of the T20I team. Batter Suryakumar Yadav has been chosen as Hardik’s deputy for the series. The 16-member squad includes Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi and Sanju Samson.

Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel are the spin options. There is no place for experienced pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar. In the pace bowling department, apart from Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel and Umran Malik, the selectors have also included Uttar Pradesh fast bowler Shivam Mavi and Bengal pacer Mukesh Kumar.

india squad for sri lanka

While Rahul and Kohli will return to the ODI squad after missing the T20I series, experienced pacer Mohammed Shami has also made the cut. He was named for the Bangladesh tour, but had to be ruled out due to a shoulder injury.

India squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India squad for Sri Lanka ODIs: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

India’s schedule for white-ball series against Sri Lanka

1st T20I (January 3, Mumbai)

2nd T20I (January 5, Pune)

3rd T20I (January 7, Rajkot)

1st ODI (January 10, Guwahati)

2nd ODI (January 12, Kolkata)

3rd ODI (January 15, Thiruvananthapuram)

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News