Rajasthan Royals down Kolkata Knight Riders by 22 runs

Tags: Rajasthan Royals Vs Kolkata Knight Riders 7th Match at Jaipur - Apr 8, 2012, Indian Premier League - 2012, Bradley John Hodge, Ankeet Anil Chavan, Amit Singh, Manoj Kumar Tiwary, Kevon Cooper

Published on: Apr 08, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Rajasthan Royals Vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Match 7 at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Match Highlights

Ankeet Chavan, Amit Singh set up easy win for Rajasthan Royals

Kolkata Knight Riders suffered their second straight defeat in IPL 5 after going down by 22 runs against hosts Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

The visitors lost the plot in the run chase when three wickets went down in consecutive deliveries between the 2nd and the 3rd overs. KKR from 8 for 3 limped slowly after that. Their fortunes ended in the 11th over when match winner Yusuf Pathan got a leading edge to his big pick up shot which carried to deep mid wicket.

KKR got into a disastrous position of 94 for 7 in the 15th over and eventually got bowled out for 142 in 20 overs. Manoj Tiwary scored a valiant 59 from 47 balls with 7 fours but unfortunately lacked any support at the other end. Medium pacer Amit Singh did the damage for the Rajasthan Royals early on taking two key wickets. Left arm spinner Ankeet Chavan who opened the bowling came up with superb figures of 2 for 23 in 4 overs while Kevon Cooper claimed 3 for 28. Brad Hodge got the Man of the Match for his 44 from 29 balls.

Rajasthan Royals reach competitive total of 164

Brad Hodge scored 44 from 29 ballsHosts Rajasthan Royals hit a competitive total of 164 for 5 in their home match against Kolkata Knight Riders. The hosts saw three crucial cameos coming in from Ashok Menaria (40 from 30 balls with 4 fours and a six), Brad Hodge (44 from 29 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes) and towards the end by Owais Shah (23* from 11 balls with 2 fours and a six).

Brett Lee bowled well for the KKR taking 2 for 29 in 4 overs. Sunil Narine and Rajat Bhatia also bowled on a tight leash to keep the scoring under a check.

Toss and Teams: Kolkata Knight Riders have won the toss and asked hosts Rajasthan Royals to bat first in Match 7 of the IPL 5 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. West Indian off spinner Sunil Narine makes his debut for the KKR coming in place of fast bowler Marchant de Lange. The Rajasthan Royals have retained the same team that won against Kings XI Punjab at this same ground.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Brendon McCullum (Wicket Keeper), Jacques Kallis, Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Debabrata Das, Laxmi Shukla, Rajat Bhatia, Brett Lee, Sunil Narine, Iqbal Abdulla

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Menaria, Brad Hodge, Owais Shah, Kevon Cooper, Ankeet Chavan, Shreevats Goswami (Wicket Keeper), Johan Botha, Amit Singh, Siddharth Trivedi

Related News