India squads for South Africa tour announced; KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav named ODI and T20I captains

Tags: India tour of South Africa 2023-24, India, South Africa, Team Squad

Published on: Dec 01, 2023

The BCCI selectors on Thursday, November 30 announced the squads for India’s tour of South Africa, which will be played from December 10 to January 7. Suryakumar Yadav has been named captain of the T20I squad, while KL Rahul has been chosen as captain of the one-day team. The BCCI confirmed that both Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have sought a break for the white ball games. Rohit will return to lead the team in the Tests, while Kohli will also be part of the red ball squad.

Ravindra Jadeja has been named vice-captain of the T20I team, which also sees Deepak Chahar finding a place. In ODIs, Sai Sudharsan and Rajat Patidar have been selected, while Sanju Samson and Yuzvendra Chahal also make a comeback. Pacer Mohammed Shami is part of the Test squad, but his availability is subject to fitness.

Batter Shreyas Iyer and seasoned fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah return to the Test team after recovering from injury, which means there is no place for veteran cricketers Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara.

India will play three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests in South Africa. The T20Is will be played on December 10 (Durban), December 12 (Gqeberha) and December 14 (Johannesburg). The ODIs will be held on December 17 (Johannesburg), December 19 (Gqeberha) and December 21 (Paarl).

The first Test begins on Boxing Day (December 26-30) at the SuperSport Park in Centurion. The second Test of the series will be played at Newlands in Cape Town from January 3 to January 7.

Meanwhile, the selectors also announced the India A squads for two four-day games. The teams will be led by KS Bharat.

India's squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar

India's squad for 2 Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna

India's squad for 3 ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News