Indian T20 2019: 'Mankaded' Royals vs Russell-ed Sunrisers

Tags: Indian T20 Cricket 2019, Rajasthan XI, Hyderabad XI

Published on: Mar 28, 2019

Possibly still shocked by the Mankading controversy that hit them in their opener against Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals would look to restore normalcy when they face Sunrisers Hyderabad in their second game at Hyderabad on Friday. The Sunrisers themselves would be looking to recover after getting caught on the wrong side of Russell assault.

Rajasthan were looking in excellent form when Jos Buttler was batting and it seemed he would take the team over the line against Punjab when the Mankading happened. While, Royals would be pleased with Buttler's form, they would want runs from the likes of Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, Steve Smith and Ben Stokes.

The series is especially important for Smith, with the World Cup in mind. In the bowling, Dhawal Kulkarni and Krishnappa Gowtham did well against Punjab but Stokes and Jaydev Unadkat, in particular, were highly expensive. Jofra Archer impressed with his pace.

Hyderabad had a different start to their campaign. They had the match in control for all but the last three overs when Andre Russell went berserk and KKR managed to blast out 53 runs.

Hyderabad though would be pleased with David Warner, who returned to IPL with a typically blazing 85 from 53 balls. Kane Williamson, Vijay Shankar and Yusuf Pathan are their other big weapons.

The Sunrisers bowling unit will need to be mentally strong to recover from the Russell assault. Bhuvneshwar Kumar began well before being taken apart while Siddharth Kaul and Shakib Al Hasan were also treated with disdain.


SunRisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (capt), Manish Pandey, Martin Guptill, Ricky Bhui, David Warner, Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Nabi, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Sreevats Gowsami, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem.

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane (capt), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Ashton Turner, Ish Sodhi, Oshane Thomas, Liam Livingstone, Sanju Samson, Shubham Ranjane, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Gopal, Sudhesan Midhun, Jaydev Unadkat, Prashant Chopra, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Riyan Parag, Dhawal Kulkarni, Krishnappa Gowtham, Varun Aaron, Shashank Singh, Manan Vohra, Rahul Tripathi.

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News