All-round Jadeja fires CSK to huge win over Deccan Chargers

Tags: Deccan Chargers Vs Chennai Super Kings 6th Match at Visakhapatnam - Apr 7, 2012, Indian Premier League - 2012, Ravindrasinh Anirudhsinh Jadeja, Dwayne John Bravo

Published on: Apr 07, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Chennai Super Kings defeated Deccan Chargers by 74 runs in Match 6 of the DLF IPL 2012 at Vizag.

Jadeja claims a five-wicket haul to spin CSK to big win

Ravindra Jadeja claimed dream figures of 5 for 16 in 4 overs to bowl Chennai Super Kings to a massive 74-run win over hosts Deccan Chargers at Vizag. Chasing an improbable 194 from 20 overs, the Deccan Chargers collapsed under pressure to a paltry total of 119 in 17.1 overs. The CSK spin trio of Ashwin, Jadeja and Jakati proved to be too good for the Chargers.

Once the CSK had put on 193, it was an enormous task for the Chargers who have just one big player in Cameron White. The Chargers Skipper for tonight’s game – Cameron White perished in the 12th over and with that his team hardly had any chances at 85 for 4. Another potential match-winner Daniel Christian holed out in the deep in the 14th over and with that any possible hopes for the Chargers vanished at 98 for 6.

Ravindra JadejaRavindra Jadeja helped himself with five wickets and got the Man of the Match for his all-round performance. He got the ball to turn away from the right handers and mixed them up with the quicker arm balls.

Jadeja, Bravo fire CSK to 193 for 6

Chennai Super Kings are favourites to win against hosts Deccan Chargers after piling up a huge total of 193 for 6. Ravindra Jadeja with a superb 48 from 29 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes and the finishing touches of Dwayne Bravo with 43* from just 18 balls with 5 sixes seemed to have batted Deccan Chargers out of the contest.

The Chennai Super Kings went for the big shots all the time on what was a beautiful pitch for batting and also a small ground at Vizag. Opener Faf du Plessis provided the initial impetus with his 39 from 25 balls with a four and 4 sixes. The CSK innings moved forward through Jadeja’s refreshing knock and ended in a grand fashion through the Calypso hitting from Bravo.

Toss and Teams:

Hosts Deccan Chargers playing in their first game of IPL 5 have won the toss and inserted defending Champions Chennai Super Kings to bat first at the ACA-VDCA Stadium in Visakhaptnam. Australian Cameron White is captaining the Chargers in the absence of Kumar Sangakkara who was tied up with the Colombo Test for his country against England.

The Chennai Super Kings are going into this match after suffering a defeat in the hands of Mumbai Indians in the opening match of the IPL 5.

Deccan Chargers: Daniel Harris, Shikhar Dhawan, Parthiv Patel (Wicket Keeper), Bharat Chipli, Cameron White (Captain), Daniel Christian, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Ankit Sharma, Dale Steyn, Manpreet Gony, TP Sudhindra

Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, S Badrinath, MS Dhoni (Captain and Wicket Keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Doug Bollinger

Related News