India Breaks Record, Achieves Milestone Defeating South Africa in 2nd T20I

Tags: South Africa tour of India, 2022, India, South Africa

Published on: Oct 03, 2022

Setting a high target of 238 for South Africa Saturday evening the Rohit & Co. won the 2nd T20 International by 16 runs with the lost of three wickets. Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli turned out the best performers with 61, 57 and 49 runs respectively at the Barsapara cricket stadium in Guwahati.

The visitors were restricted to 221 for 3 in twenty overs. David Miller was at his best with 106 not out while Quinton de Kock pocketed 69 not out.

The Rahul-Rohit pair set the foundation initially with 96 runs partnership and Suryakumar Yadav thereafter became the cynosure of the match by smashing boundaries and sixes. Dinesh Karthik equally proved excellent at the end by pocketing 17 runs (not out) in seven balls.

Keshav Maharaj of South Africa turned out the most successful bowler for the team with 2/23 and the rest were disastrous. Arshdeep Singh and Axar Patel from the India side were the highest wicket takers with 2/62 and 1/53 respectively.

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is just ahead and Team India is expected to perform similarly well. Fans are looking to see the batters stay in the form. Dinesh Karthik has created an impression with his last-over batting skill. However, the primary concern could be related to the top-order batting even though KL Rahul has started getting some runs.

Harshal Patel is currently not too successful. He has failed to take wickets frequently in past matches. The worry related to the fast-bowling combination is mounting with uncertainties. Ravichandran Ashwin has pushed himself back differently and seems unconvincing lately. He is trying new things and Sunday's match surely has attracted the fans.

The fall of wickets for the two sides was:

India - 237 for 3 in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 61, KL Rahul 57, Virat Kohli 49 not out; Keshav Maharaj 2/23).

South Africa - 221 for 3 in 20 overs (David Miller 106 not out, Quinton de Kock 69 not out; Arshdeep Singh 2/62).

Records Broker and Milestones Achieved

Rohit Sharma completes 400 T20 appearances and becomes the first Indian cricketer to achieve it.

Suryakumar Yadav achieves 1,000 T20I runs in 573 balls and thereafter breaks the record of Glenn Maxwell to become the quickest batter. Maxwell achieved in 604 balls and Colin Munro in 635 balls. Evin Lewis and Thisara Perera achieved the same in 640 and 654 balls respectively.

Virat Kohli has achieved the milestone of 11,000 runs in T20Is and first Indian to reach the mark.

India defeats South Africa for the first time in a T20I series at home.

Miller and Quinton scored the highest partnership of 174 runs in T20Is.

David Miller becomes the first batter in South Africa to complete 2,000 runs in the T20 format.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held from October 16 to November 13 across six venues in Australia. A total of 16 teams will be playing 45 matches to lift the trophy.

Related News