Why All Eyes on Suryakumar this T20 World Cup

Tags: ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2022, India, Suryakumar Ashok Yadav

Published on: Oct 12, 2022

Suryakumar is in best form and arguably being considered as the finest Twenty20 batter in Team India. Playing Monday against the Western Australia XI he was witnessed smashing astonishing 3 sixes and 3 fours, pocketing 52 runs in 35 balls at the Western Australia Cricket Association Ground in Perth, Australia.

It was the first practice match for the Indian players and the team won by 13 runs by losing six wickets. The target set for the opponent was 159. Western Australia XI lost 8 wickets in 20 overs and could make score 145 runs. Team India will be playing a couple of practice matches more including one each against New Zealand and Australia before the T20 World Cup kickstarts on October 16.

KL Rahul, the regular opening partner of captain Rohit Sharma, was replaced with Rishabh Pant and he managed hitting 9 runs in 16 balls. Both were out when the team's score was just 28. Deepak Hooda took the control and with 1 six and 2 fours he pocketed 22 runs in 14 balls. Next, the free-flowing strokeplay of Suryakumar made fans enjoy the match.

The fall of wickets for India was 1-6 (Rohit Sharma, 2.1 ov), 2-28 (Deepak Hooda, 4.5 ov), 3-45 (Rishabh Pant, 6.5 ov), 4-94 (Hardik Pandya, 12.2 ov), 5-129 (Suryakumar Yadav, 17.2 ov), 6-141 (Axar Patel, 18.3 ov). Bhuvneshwar Kumar, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin did not bat.

The fall of wickets for Western Australia was 1-8 (D'Arcy Short, 0.6 ov), 2-10 (Aaron Hardie, 1.3 ov), 3-11 (Nick Hobson, 1.6 ov), 4-12 (Ashton Turner, 2.5 ov), 5-57 (Cameron Bancroft, 9.6 ov), 6-115 (Sam Fanning, 16.2 ov), 7-119 (Hamish McKenzie, 17.3 ov), 8-133 (Andrew Tye, 19.3 ov). Jason Behrendorff, David Moody did not bat.

Suryakumar pocketed 61 runs in 22 and 8 runs in 8 balls in a bilateral T20 series against South Africa on October 2 and October 4 respectively. It was the last series for the team ahead of the World Cup.

In a three-match bilateral T20 series a month ago against Australia the batter scored unbeatable 50 in 33 balls, 69 in 36 balls and 48 in 25 balls.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 - Australia

This edition of the ICC Men's Twenty20 World Cup is scheduled to be held from October 16 to November 13. Australia is the host country and a total of 45 matches are to be played by sixteen teams across various venues including Adelaide Oval in Adelaide, The Gabba in Brisbane, Kardinia Park in Geelong, Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne and Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney.

The first match for Team India is on October 23 against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The two warm-up matches are on October 17 and October 19 against Australia and New Zealand respectively.

Team India Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Suryakumar Yadav. Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out due to back injury. Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Shami are standby players.

Related News