Netherlands stun South Africa by 38 runs in match 15 of 2023 World Cup

Tags: World Cup 2023, South Africa vs Netherlands, 15th Match at Dharamsala, Oct 17, 2023, South Africa, Netherlands

Published on: Oct 18, 2023

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Netherlands stunned South Africa by 38 runs in match number 15 of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala on Tuesday, October 17. In a rain-reduced encounter, the Dutch recovered from 140/7 to post 245/8 courtesy of skipper Scott Edwards’ 78 off 69 balls. In the chase, not a single Proteas scored a half-century as they succumbed to 207 all out. This was Netherlands’ second consecutive win in World Cups against South Africa. They had earlier defeated the Proteas in the 2022 T20 World Cup.

Batting first, Netherlands got off to a poor start as Vikramjit Singh (2) top-edged a pull off Kagiso Rabada. Max O’Dowd (18) got a start but was caught behind off Marco Jansen. Rabada then trapped Bas de Leede (2) leg before. The Dutch were hoping for the reliable Colin Ackermann to come up with a good knock. However, he was knocked over by Gerald Coetzee for 13.

Sybrand Engelbrecht (19), Teja Nidamanuru (20) and Logan van Beek (10) all fell cheaply as South Africa were very much on top. Netherlands skipper Edwards, however, led his side’s brilliant fightback, adding 64 for the eighth wicket with Roelof van der Merwe (29 off 19). Edwards struck 10 fours and a six in his fine knock. Aryan Dutt also chipped in with a crucial 23 not out off only nine balls, clobbering three sixes.

Netherlands were brilliant with the ball in their defense of a fighting total. The in-form Quinton de Kock (20) edged a sweep to the keeper. Van der Merwe then knocked over Temba Bavuma (16), while Paul van Meekeren knocked over Aiden Markram (1). Rassie van der Dussen (4) also perished to van der Merwe as the Proteas yet again crumbled against the Dutch. They were 44/4 in the 12th over.

Heinrich Klaasen (28) and David Miller (43) added 45 for the fifth wicket. However, Klaasen perished to Van Beek, miscuing a short ball. Marco Jansen (9) was knocked over by van Meekeren. Like in the T20 World Cup clash, South Africa’s hopes of victory perished with David Miller (43 off 52), who was bowled by Van Beek.

Keshav Maharaj (40 off 37) and Gerald Coetzee (22 off 23) offered some resistance, but it was too little too late. Van Beek brought up the historic winning moment, having Maharaj caught behind. Van Beek ended with three wickets, while Van Meekeren, Van der Merwe and Bas de Leede chipped in with two scalps each.

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News